I would close my eyes and picture their tiny hands and toes

VERY EXCITING NEWS: Thursday morning, I am going to be on the Teresa Tomeo Show on Ave Maria/EWTN radio. It is for a live interview (Thurs, 5/24) from 9:39-9:57am EST! Please tune in and listen!!

I can’t seem to get inside the doctor’s office for therapy, can you help me? This was a question that Made in His Image has been asked several times, so I wanted to write a few blog posts over the next several days about therapy.

Question: Where you anxious/nervous about going to therapy? And how did you actually get inside his/her office for therapy? I can’t seem to get inside for my sessions.

First of all, good for you for being brave and courageous and going to therapy. That’s awesome and really demonstrates that you want to get better. You should be proud of yourself, as this is a huge step in the right direction. WAY TO GO!

Just to put it in perspective for you – after several months had passed and I slowly became more comfortable with my doctor, he told me that the first time I came to see him, he thought I was going to faint from nervousness. Looking back now, I can laugh at that, which is a good thing because it’s good to laugh at yourself.

So, to answer your question, you bet I was nervous! For several weeks my hand use to shake as I opened his office door going into a session. While my nervousness and anxiety definitely lessened over time, I think it’s completely normal for you to be nervous going to counseling during the first few weeks, or even months.

Something that helped me greatly, that you might try is the following: I decided to offer my therapy sessions up for a special intention, which helped tremendously. My third session was exceedingly challenging and when I left that afternoon I couldn’t stop crying. This is so hard, I don’t know how I’m going to make it through. I’m just not that strong, how am I going to do this? Later that day I went to adoration and decided that I was going to offer up each session and homework activity for my future children. I desperately yearn for my future children to not have to suffer from the ramifications of abuse. So, when the anxiety seemed unbearable, or I had to draw or describe events and bodies that I thought I would never be able to do, I would close my eyes and picture what my future children might look like. I imagined their tiny hands and toes and how I would desire to surround them with love and tenderness. I thought about all that I would want to teach them about God the Father, Jesus, Mary and the Saints. Then I thought about how strong I would need to be for them and how much I needed to grow and heal before I could get married and have children. Then I closed my eyes gently, as I opened my doctor’s office door and proceed to another therapy session.

Perhaps you could try something similar? Think of something or someone who you would like to offer your therapy sessions up for and proceed courageously from there. You can do it and Made in His Image is here to support you along your journey of healing.

Tomorrow Made in His Image will answer another therapy related question, so check back then and thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “I would close my eyes and picture their tiny hands and toes

  1. Wow…. 🙂 I love how you love little babies 🙂 It touches my heart to read something like this; my heart feels like it would melt if I saw this in action. You’re desire for goodness is so, so sweet and amazing Maura. I now know why the devil fears Mary so much – it is not because she fights with violence. Never would she do that. It is because she peacefully loves, and loves and loves and loves infinitely. The devil cannot stand this, nor could he ever survive if he was near someone who’s goodness was so incredible. I know that you are like Mary, Maura, and it makes me think how wonderful I am to have met someone so much like her before I actually meet her one day. You show me what she will be like 🙂

Leave a Reply

