The Birth of Made in His Image

In April 2011 a friend recommended that I see the movie There be Dragons. Set during the Spanish Civil War, it tells the story of St. Josemaria Escriva and his childhood friend Manolo Torres. As the two lads grow up, Josemaria answers God’s call and becomes a Catholic priest and founds the movement called Opus Dei (work of God). After leaving the seminary himself, Manolo becomes a spy for the fascists.

As hatred, betrayal and jealousy climb throughout the movie for Manolo he becomes a slave to his anger. As a Catholic priest fighting for his life, Josemaria chooses to spread seeds of hope and forgiveness. On one particular occasion while Josemaria and his priests were hiding for their lives in a psychiatric hospital a beautiful red-headed woman approaches him and shows Josemaria the scars on her wrists where she had cut herself. One can see the fear in her eyes as she says, “I was raped and still sleep with the lights on. I lock my door at night and put a chair under the door handle.” Gentle tears rolled down my face as she continued to say, “I have accepted that God can be terrible. And now my prayers are deeper. I fight Him with love.”

My heart almost pounded out of my chest. Her courage was inspiring and her innocence radiated true beauty, as she said gently, yet firmly, “I fight Him with love.” This woman had suffered immensely, but her response to suffering was saintly. She was probably one of the most minor characters in the movie, yet her reply “I fight Him with love” the most compelling line I have ever heard from a movie.

With every fiber of my being I hope that my own echo to suffering can be the same as hers.

With tremendous joy and peace in my heart I am exceedingly excited to announce the main reason for my blog. I have had a strong desire for over a year to start my own non-profit for girls and women called Made in His Image. And I would like to use this site to help promote my efforts as I have begun the preliminary ground work for this endeavor.

Made in His Image will work to help girls and women alike who have been abused, raped, suffered from mental illnesses, eating disorders, the effects of addictions and self-esteem. Through sharing my own testimony I will use Made in His Image to educate women on God the Father’s unwavering love, mercy and healing Hands. It will teach women about the dignity we all possess being created in the image and likeness of God. This work will only be accomplished through the power of the Holy Spirit.

I have failed to show my appreciation countless times for the crosses God has asked me to carry. I want to use this non-profit to gather girls from around the country and ultimately the world to “fight Him with love.”

If you would like to donate to my work or know of anyone who would be interested please contact me and thank you for reading.